H. Luchaire & Company 27 rue Erand, Paris in the 12th district began business in 1720. Without a specific way to date the lantern, or wall sconce as the manufacturer referred to them as, this antique French copper and steel lantern design was known as model 3226 and probably dates to the mid-1800’s. The lantern has been converted to electricity and can use a 60-watt candelabra bulb. The copper tag indicates that it was used in the town of St Caratec No1, which frequently refers to a train station and carries the initial RB.
The other lantern from H. Luchaire & Company lantern Port de Carhaix No 2 is a near match the lantern No1, but slightly different in height and the brass finials vary from lantern to lantern. His “apparatus d'eclairage” as H. Luchaire refers to it as, simply means lighting apparatus. Probably also dates from the mid-1800’s and was electrified as well. Both lanterns would make for a stunning pair of wall sconces.
**Measurements provided are for the lantern on the left. The latter on the right is 23.25" high, 12.25" wide and 10.13" deep. The heights for both lanterns include the 1" finials at the bases.